Past Honorees

The Archives of American Art Medal honors distinguished members of the American art community.

2023    Jaune Quick-to-See Smith
            The Keith Haring Foundation

2022    Peter Brant
            Ursula von Rydingsvard

2019    Howardena Pindell
            American Academy of Arts and Letters

2018     Sam Gilliam
             Roy Lichtenstein Foundation

2017     Sharon Percy Rockefeller
             Glenn Ligon 

2016     Steve Martin
             Catherine Opie

2015     Ford Foundation
             Robert Gober

2014     Robert  E. Meyerhoff
             Claes Oldenburg

2013     James Turrell
             Alice Walton

2012     Richard Serra
             Melva Bucksbaum & Raymond Learsy

2011     Cindy Sherman
            The Leadership of Ann L. Gund,
            Jo Carole Lauder, Wendy W. Luers, Carol Price, &
            Eden Rafshoon of the Foundation for Art and Preservation in Embassies

2010     Mark di Suvero
             Sheila Hicks
             Don & Mera Rubell

2009     Richard Artschwager
              Douglas S. Cramer
              Jack Lenor Larsen

2008     Ellen Phelan
              Joel Shapiro
              Joan T. Washburn
              Virginia M. Zabriskie

2007     John Baldessari

2006     Paula Cooper

2005     Barbara G. Fleischman & the Fleischman Legacy

2004     Eli Broad

2003     Rita Fraad & Margaret & Raymond Horowitz

2002     André Emmerich

2001     Wayne Thiebaud

2000     Salute to the Founders of the Archives of American Art

1999     Ellsworth Kelly

1998     Robert Hughes

1996     Chuck Close

1994     Agnes Gund

1993     Frank Stella

1991     Roy Lichtenstein

1990     Richard Manoogian

1988     Benjamin D. Holloway

Lawrence A. Fleischman Award for Scholarly Excellence in the Field of American Art History 

The Lawrence A. Fleischman Award for Scholarly Excellence in the Field of American Art History originated in 1998 by Trustee Barbara G. Fleischman as a tribute to her late husband, who founded the Archives in 1954.

2023      Ruth Fine

2022      Lowery Stokes Sims

2019      Alexander Nemerov

2018      Cécile Whiting

2017      Tomás Ybarra-Frausto

2016      Thomas Crow

2015      William H. Truettner

2014      Teresa A. Carbone

2013      Richard J. Powell

2012      Morrison H. Heckscher

2011       Dore Ashton

2010      William H. Gerdts

2009      Klaus Kertess

2008      Neil Harris

2007      H. Barbara Weinberg

2006      Wanda Corn

2005      Helen A. Cooper

2004      Robert Storr

2003      Barbara Haskell

2002      Linda Ferber

2001      Jules Prown

2000     John K. Howat

1999      Barbara Novak

1998      John Wilmerding

Archives of American Art Award for Philanthropic Leadership

2014      Terra Foundation for American Art

Photograph of attendees of the Gala seated at tables in a large event room
2024 Gala

Join us for the October 29, 2024 Archives of American Art Gala in New York City. 

Karen Maynor, Photograph of Andy Warhol writing a note on vacuum cleaner at “Art in Process V” exhibition, 1972.
Support the Archives

Your support of the Archives of American Art helps us achieve our mission to collect, preserve, and provide access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.