You are here

Annual Benefit

Join us at our Annual Benefit in New York City to celebrate the unique contributions of significant artists, collectors, dealers, historians, and philanthropists in the American art world.

Your participation in this event offers critical support for the Archives’ mission while recognizing the accomplishments of our remarkable honorees.

  • Attendees of the 2016 Annual Benefit seated
  • Art critic Thomas Crow accepting award at Annual Benefit
  • Actor, comedian, and collector Steve Martin accepting award at Annual
  • Smithsonian Secretary David Skorton speaking at the Annual Benefit
  • Artist Catherine Opie accepting award at the Annual Benefit
  • Photograph of awardees and trustees: Barbara Fleischman, Steve Martin, Catherine Opie, Thomas Crow, and Martha Fleischman

The Archives will hold its 2017 Benefit on October 24, 2017, at 583 Park Avenue, New York City
7:00PM Cocktails
8:00PM Dinner
Cocktail Attire

Sharon Percy Rockefeller
Archives of American Art Medal
Presented by Dr. Earl A. Powell III

Glenn Ligon
Archives of American Art Medal
Presented by Byron Kim

Tomás Ybarra-Frausto
Lawrence A. Fleischman Award for Scholarly Excellence in the Field of American Art History
Presented by Professor Chon Noriega


Tables range from $10,000-$25,000
Tickets range from $1,000-$3,000
To reserve your place or for more information, email or call (202) 633-8768.

Past Honorees

The Archives of American Art Medal honors distinguished members of the American art community

2016     Steve Martin
             Catherine Opie
2015     Ford Foundation
             Robert Gober
2014     Robert  E. Meyerhoff
             Claes Oldenburg
2013     James Turrell
             Alice Walton
2012     Richard Serra
             Melva Bucksbaum & Raymond Learsy
2011     Cindy Sherman
            The Leadership of Ann L. Gund,
            Jo Carole Lauder, Wendy W. Luers, Carol Price, &
            Eden Rafshoon of the Foundation for Art and Preservation in Embassies
2010     Mark di Suvero
             Sheila Hicks
             Donald & Mera Rubell
2009     Richard Artschwager
              Douglas S. Cramer
              Jack Lenor Larsen
2008     Ellen Phelan
              Joel Shapiro
              Joan T. Washburn
              Virginia M. Zabriskie
2007     John Baldessari
2006     Paula Cooper
2005     Barbara G. Fleischman & the Fleischman Legacy
2004     Eli Broad
2003     Rita Fraad & Margaret & Raymond Horowitz
2002     André Emmerich
2001     Wayne Thiebaud
2000     Salute to the Founders of the Archives of American Art
1999     Ellsworth Kelly
1998     Robert Hughes
1996     Chuck Close
1994     Agnes Gund
1993     Frank Stella
1991     Roy Lichtenstein
1990     Richard Manoogian
1988     Benjamin D. Holloway

The Lawrence A. Fleischman Award for Scholarly Excellence in the Field of American Art History originated in 1998 by Trustee Barbara G. Fleischman as a tribute to her late husband, who founded the Archives in 1954

2016      Thomas Crow
2015      William H. Truettner
2014      Teresa A. Carbone
2013      Richard J. Powell
2012      Morrison H. Heckscher
2011       Dore Ashton
2010      William H. Gerdts
2009      Klaus Kertess
2008      Neil Harris
2007      H. Barbara Weinberg
2006      Wanda Corn
2005      Helen A. Cooper
2004      Robert Storr
2003      Barbara Haskell
2002      Linda Ferber
2001      Jules Prown
2000     John K. Howat
1999      Barbara Novak
1998      John Wilmerding

Archives of American Art Award for Philanthropic Leadership

2014      Terra Foundation for American Art