University of Chicago Office of the President, Harper, Judson and Burton Administrations records

Inclusive Dates: 

This record forms part of the Chicago’s Art-Related Archival Materials: A Terra Foundation Resource project funded by the Terra Foundation for American Art. For this project, the Archives surveyed archival repositories throughout the Chicago region to identify art-related materials contained in their holdings. While the Archives of American Art does not own any of the materials described herein, information about those materials and links to the original repositories have been included when available.

Descriptive Summary

47 linear feet (91 boxes) of material consisting of records of the University of Chicago Office of the President, covering the administrations of the first three presidents of the University: William Rainey Harper (1891–1906), Harry Pratt Judson (1906–1923), and Ernest DeWitt Burton (1923–1925). Included are administrative records such as correspondence, memoranda, and reports. Correspondents include Hamlin Garland, 1902–1905. The collection contains files concerning the Industrial Art League of Chicago, 1899–1906; Municipal Art League of Chicago, 1913–1915; National Academy of Design, 1917; portraits, paintings and sculpture at the university, 1902–1925; Public Art League of United States, 1900; and Lorado Taft, 1894–1925.

Biographical Historical Note

The University of Chicago was founded in 1892 as an elite but progressive institution of higher learning on the South Side of Chicago. Since its founding, the university has maintained a particular focus on Chicago itself.

Additional Notes

Related collections: University of Chicago Office of the President, Mason Administration records, 1910–1929; University of Chicago Office of the President, Hutchins Administration records, 1892–1951; University of Chicago Office of the President, Wilson Administration records 1891-1978.