Skip to main content

Research material on Amedeo Modigliani, circa 1920-1962, bulk 1950-1959

More Information

Sarah Haug
Scope and Contents
Research material on Amedeo Modigliani, circa 1920-1962, measures 2.1 linear feet and was compiled by art critic Alberto G. d'Atri for his unpublished work, "La Vie et l'Oeuvre de Modigliani Amedeo, 12 Juillet 1884 - 24 Janvier 1920 par Alberto G. d'Atri," circa 1950-1956. Found is Modigliani's death certificate, correspondence, writings, notes, printed material, reproductions, extensive photographs of artwork, and a register of Modigliani's works of art.
Correspondence includes letters to and from Alberto d'Atri with European and American museums and galleries, and scholars. A significant portion of the correspondence is in French, and to a lesser extent, Italian. Writings consist of typed manuscripts, drafts, and research notes, primarily in French. Notes include lists of Modigliani's works of art in the collections of museums, galleries, and private owners, and notes for an exhibition catalog of the artist's works.
Printed Material includes a handful of photocopied clippings, two exhibition announcements, and scattered articles and essays on Modigliani. Found among the reproductions are facsimiles of letters from Modigliani, prints, postcards and various printed material of Modigliani's artwork. Much of the research material consists of photographs of works of arts by Modigliani, many of which have provenance-related information written on the back of the photograph. Also found are a handful of reproduced photographs of Modigliani and his artist friends and models, and d'Atri's oversized one-volume register of Modigliani's works of art which contains 329 entries indicating titles, dimensions, dates, descriptions, ownership, provenance, and exhibition history for each work.
The research material on Amedeo Modigliani was donated to the Archives of American Art by Alberto G. d'Atri's daughter, Lisa Claire Martin, in 1995.
Processing Information
The collection was minimally processed and arranged by Joy Weiner in 2003, and described by Sarah Haug in 2009.