Size: 4.4 Linear feet
Summary: The Anneberg Gallery records measure 4.4 linear feet and date from 1945 to 1992, with the bulk of the records dating from 1966 to 1981. The collection sheds light on the San Francisco gallery's operations, specializing in local crafts and international folk art, through administrative records, artist files, exhibition files, and photographic material.
The Anneberg Gallery was founded in San Francisco, California, in 1966 by Margery Anneberg. The gallery's original name was The Jewelry Shop and Gallery, but it changed to Anneberg Gallery in 1967. The gallery exhibited local artists and crafts; however, it specialized in the exhibition and sale of international folk art. Anneberg gathered textiles, masks, fabrics, baskets, sculptures, and much more from collectors and importers around the world. The gallery showcased items from the Middle East, China, Japan, Africa, South America, Mexico, and others. Although mostly involved in displaying contemporary crafts, the gallery did exhibit some historical artifacts as well.
The collection was donated in 2004 by Craig T. Anneberg, brother of gallery owner Margery Anneberg, as part of the Nanette L. Laitman Documentation Project for Craft and Decorative Arts in America.
The processing of this collection received Federal support from the Smithsonian Collections Care and Preservation Fund, administered by the National Collections Program and the Smithsonian Collections Advisory Committee.