Skip to main content

Alliance of Figurative Artists lectures and panel discussions, 1969-1970

Alliance of Figurative Artists

Collection Information

Size: 2 Linear feet; 1.24 Gigabytes

Summary: The lectures and panel discussions of the Alliance of Figurative Artists measures 2.0 linear feet and 1.24 GB and date from 1969 to 1970. The collection consists of twenty-four tape recordings and two recordings in digital format of panel discussions, and lectures held in conjunction with meetings of the Alliance of Figurative Artists in New York. Artists represented include: Lennart Anderson, Milet Andrejevic, Noah Baen, William Bailey, Rosemarie Beck, William Beckman, Leland Bell, Robert Birmelin, John Bradford, Joel Brody, Harold Bruder, Rudy Burckhardt, John Button, Gretna Campbell, Richard Chiriani, Bruno Chivitico, Thomas Cornell, Lucien Day, Lois Dodd, Ben Einhorn, Walter Erlebacher, Lawrence Faden, Louis Finkelstein, Joseph Fiore, Jane Freilicher, Stanley Friedman, Joel Galker, Paul Georges, Gregory Gillespie, Lloyd Glasson, Joel Goldblatt, Nancy Grilikhes, Nathan Hale, Aaron Kersen, John Koch, Majorie Kramer, Al Kresh, Gabriel Laderman, Alfred Leslie, Frank McCall, Edward Melcarth, Raoul Middleman, Richard A. Miller (Richard McDermott), Philip Pearlstein, Joseph Pollet, Paul Resika, Ben Rifkin, Anthony Siani, Bonnie Sklarski, William Sullivan, Sam Thurston, Sidney Tillim, Louis Tytell, and Neil Welliver.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Alliance of Figurative Artists was an artist-run discussion group frequented by a majority of the figurative and realist painters and sculptors in New York City in the 1970s. It was held in New York City from February 14, 1969, until the 1980s.


The lectures and panel discussions were donated by the Alliance of Figurative Artists on November 13, 1970.

Language Note

English .


The processing of this collection received Federal support from the Smithsonian Collections Care and Preservation Fund, administered by the National Collections Program and the Smithsonian Collections Advisory Committee.