Laguna Gloria Art Museum,
Collection size: 9 items (on 2 microfilm reels).
Collection Summary: 9 bound scrapbooks containing: newspaper and magazine clippings and publicity statements from 1965-1980; press releases from July 1976-August 1977; exhibition catalogs; meeting minutes, membership lists, resumes and receipts.
Biographical/Historical Note: The Laguna Gloria Art Museum has its origins in the Texas Fine Arts Association, which was founded in 1911 "to encourage the advancement of art in Texas and to increase the possibilities of art experience for its communities and its people." In 1943 Clara Driscoll Seiver deeded her home to the TFAA, specifying that it should become a museum of modern art. It was named The Laguna Gloria Art Museum. In 1961, the museum broke away from the TFAA and became independent.
The Laguna Gloria Art Museum papers were lent by the museum for microfilming.