Audubon Artists records, 1944-2001

Audubon Artists (New York, N.Y.), est. 1942
New York, N.Y.

Collection size: 6.7 linear feet

Collection Summary: Correspondence, constitution, membership forms, lists of members and board members; juror's award lists, exhibition forms, press releases, exhibition catalogs, subject files, and photographs and negatives of works of art from annual exhibitions and group portraits of officers.

Among the correspondents are Audubon Artists' past presidents (1944-1948) Frederic Whitaker, Ralph Fabri, Joseph Domareki, Domenico Facci, Mark Freeman, Renee McKay, and Hughie Lee-Smith; the organization's historians Michael Engel and Jan Gary; artists Stuart Davis and Lyonel Feininger; John Taylor Arms, Thomas Hart Benton, Peter Blume, Jon Corbino, Walt Disney, Robert Gwathmey, Raoul Hague, Malvina Hoffman, Peter Hurd, Wiliam Meyerowitz, Henry Varnum Poor, Everett Shinn, Benton Spruance, Stow Wegenroth, and Stark Young.

Donated by Audubon Artists in 1978 (via Mark Freeman, president) and 2001 (via David Pena, president).

How to Use this Collection

  • Use of original papers requires an appointment and is limited to the Archives Washington, D.C. Research Center. Contact Reference services for more information.
  • For more information on using the Archives’ resources, see the FAQ or Ask Us.